Register

Author Topic: Eternal's Den of Wonders*  (Read 12484 times)

Eternal248

• Denizen
  • I know something of cages.
    • View Profile
    • Final Fantasy Hacktics
Eternal's Den of Wonders*
« on: May 13, 2011, 04:05:57 PM »
Hello everyone, as you can see, my name's Eternal248, but most people call me Eternal or ET. Whichever works for you is fine by me.

I was introduced to this forum by Laggy, after we were discussing LFT and various other FFT-related things. I'm an admin over at Final Fantasy Hacktics, so I'm very interested in others' approaches to FFT modding. I've already been on IRC, and I'm loving the community here! I'm looking forward to being able to share my work with you guys, and hopefully you'll enjoy it all! I'm by no means a "real" hacker- I rely on the editors that others are generous enough to make. I'm currently working on a FFT patch (which I'll discuss below), and I've finished (but am still updating) a FFVI Hardtype patch.

~Final Fantasy VI Hardtype~

My very first ever patch! The basic aim was to make things harder, but in time, it grew. Although I'm still fine-tuning certain aspects (Rages, Lores, and Sketches, I'm looking at you), generally each PC in FFVI Hardtype fits a more pre-defined role. This is accomplished by limiting the spells certain Espers teach, and making most spells learnable through equipment. Generally, using buffs and debuffs are more important now that enemies hit much, much harder. Certain spells have been changed, mostly to be more useful/less broken. For example:

Quick -> Blind
Antdot -> Chrono (Cures Slow/Stop)
Break now deals Earth damage.

My ultimate goal is for each PC to be a bit more useful and focused than they were before, since they seemed rather same-y in Vanilla FFVI. I could go into deeper detail of what I've done... but I don't know if you guys would want the specifics or not. FFVI Hardtype has been attached below in a .zip file. You'll need Lunar IPS to patch a clean ROM.